31 Days of Horror! – Day 25

Standard

beyondmain
OK guys I am back again to talk about what is now one of my favorite horror movies of all-time. Yes, it’s that good. Lucio Fulci is one of my favorite horror directors, and this is his best movie.

The Beyond or …E tu vivrai nel terrore! L’aldilà or 7 Doors of Death
Directed by Lucio Fulci
Written by Giorgio Mariuzzo, Lucio Fulci, and Dardano Sacchetti

First things first: these movies always have 30-40 different names. It’s crazy and I don’t understand. I’m just calling it The Beyond because that’s its official English title. I also want to say that this is the 2nd entry in the unofficial thematic “Gates of Hell” trilogy that is bordered by Fulci’s City of the Living Dead and The House by the Cemetery. I haven’t gotten to these yet. My Fulci obsession is pretty fresh and I don’t want to overload the 31 Days… with his work. I like to vary it up, you know.

Anyway, as far as I know, this is Fulci’s most Lovecraftian movie. And you guys all know how I feel about Lovecraftian movies. And if you don’t, it’s that I feel very good about them. So good, in fact, that alongside body horror, it’s tied for my favorite type of horror. And guess what? This movie also has a TON of body horror. Now, this isn’t your Cronenberg-type body horror. It’s more gory and blunt that that. But I call it body horror because it’s different from other, more typical gore movies like Hostel or Texas Chainsaw Massacre. It’s a lot more artistic than that. And before you scoff, hear me out.

I believe that, just like in any other type of medium, there is artistry to gore. Do I think the gore in Hostel is art? Of a kind, yes. But it’s mostly shock. It’s just there to shock and disturb you. Filmmakers like Fulci, and Herschell Gordon Lewis, take typical gore and transcend it. They make it the point of the movie. Blood and skin ripping apart in full technicolor. Heads smashing against nails, but eyeballs staying behind to hang out on the end of the nail. Spiders eating a face like it was jelly-filled taffy.

beyond3

Speaking of spiders, that scene is one of the greatest in horror film history. Actually another one of the greatest (even better, in my opinion) is when a zombie fights a live shark underwater in Zombi 2. God damn, what a great scene.

Wow forgot to tell you what the ding dang movie is about. It’s about this hotel that has one of the 7 doorways to Hell in the basement. So this woman decides to re-open the hotel and she finds a book that opens the door and zombies start happening. Magic books, undead creatures, portals to other dimensions. Very Lovecraftian. Now, his work doesn’t usually specifically have zombies, but there are inhuman monstrosities. And he doesn’t generally use Hell, but Hell is basically just another evil dimension anyway, theoretically.

Anyway, I love The Beyond. Like I said, it’s already one of my favorites I have seen. I think the rest of these days of horror are going to be comprised of only movies I think will be good. I’ve had rotten luck with bad horror this year. It’s been actually bad, instead of just funny-bad. And that’s boring man. Too boring.

Leave a Reply

