31 Days of Horror – Day 4!

Standard

the-invitation

Hey guys today is the 4th day of October so it is also the 4th day of the 31 days of horror. ONE MONTH and 3 DAYS until my bday by the way. In case anyone wants to send me presents, please don’t hesitate to slide into the DMs for my address 😉

Anyway so wowie wow this was a good movie.

Sorry forgot to introduce it.

The Invitation (2016)
Directed By: Karyn Kusama
Written By: Phil Hay and Matt Manfredi

So this movie is about a guy (Logan Marshall-Green, Prometheus) who goes to a yuppie dinner party held by his ex-wife and her new BF (Michiel Huisman, Game of Thrones). Everything starts off as slightly uncomfortable as it seems, and all these yuppies are annoying yuppies. Then weird stuff starts happening when John Carrol Lynch (Twisty the Clown from American Horror Story, also Walking Dead, a million other things) shows up and there’s a weird video and I’m not going to spoil a DAMN THING so GET OUTTA HERE.

the-invitation-1

The best thing about this movie is that you never know who to trust. Honestly the fact that it’s even considered a horror movie is kind of upsetting because you sort of don’t know if it is or not. I mean it is. But it’s very much a psychological horror movie. I really can’t say too much along these lines because I don’t want to spoil anything.

Anyway I loved this movie. It’s so good, so twisty and strange and psychological. You have no idea what’s going on at almost any point. The feeling I can describe would be like you know something is seriously wrong, but you have no idea what or why you even feel that way. I feel like I didn’t even really trust myself while watching it. How I felt anyway. It’s a really cool feeling, and it really reminded me of a less supernatural Coherence. If you haven’t seen Coherence, I highly recommend it. More sci-fi/psychological thriller than horror though. Don’t look anything up about it, besides I guess the imdb page. But don’t look up spoilers or anything. Just find it and watch it. The same goes for this movie. Try to avoid any in-depth plot summaries and just watch it.

Anyway The Invitation is on Netflix, so if you have it, definitely watch it.

One thought on “31 Days of Horror – Day 4!

Leave a Reply

