31 DAYS OF HORROR – DAY 18

Standard

goodnight-mommy
I’m currently in the midst of my second retrospective as I’m writing this, but I figured I should take a break, because it’s the afternoon and I want to try to keep my posts during the day rather than at night so that all of you fine people can read them at a reasonable hour. So my movie remains paused as I write about the movies I watched recently.

Now I want to take a moment to talk about last week’s episode of American Horror Story because I said I would. I finally got around to watching it this morning and I still like where the season is going. I didn’t LOVE the episode (I didn’t LOVE the first one either), but I LIKE the direction I feel like it’s heading in, an I definitely like aspects of it. This episode had a more distinct film noir feel than the first one, and I think that was pretty cool and I think they should use that a little more. Evan Peters was good as basically H.H. Holmes and it was nice to see Finn Wittrock back, playing a somewhat different character, and  I like where that story is going, and i like that this seasons is sort of limiting it to two major plots with little extra stuff that’s kind of annoying. I don’t understand what Sarah Paulson’s character is doing, I have no idea what she’s all about, and I’m not really interested in it. Basically we have the Lady Gaga story and the Wes Bentley story of him trying to figure out what’s up with the hotel and Lady Gaga pretty much just vampire-ing on people. So I’m definitely going to opt in for another week. I should be watching episode 3 sometime next week and I will probably let you know what I think of it.

Goodnight Mommy
Goodnight Mommy (Ich Seh, Ich Seh) (2015)

Goodnight Mommy is one of the more insane movies I’ve seen in a while. I really enjoyed it. It’s the kind of movie that sneaks up on you because you’ve heard all these good things about it “Oh it’s so scary” “Oh it’s so crazy” and you’re watching it and you’re thinking “well, it’s good, but I don’t see why it’s so crazy” and then it gets crazy. SO take my word for it. If you’re watching the movie and it seems kind of slow and meandering, and there’s a cool mystery, but you’re not shocked by anything really, give it time. It’s worth it. And it makes you realize that the entire time you THOUGHT it was slow, it’s actually just a genius build-up. So you have to just sit down and watch it start to finish with no interruptions because it’s great.

It’s about twin brothers whose mother comes back from the hospital after some medical procedure and her face is covered in bandages. But they are starting to become confused because their mother is not acting normally. So, I don’t want to say much more about the plot because it’s best if you go in knowing as little as possible. So basically you have twins, mom acts different, they are trying to figure out what’s wrong. That’s all I’m going to say about the movie.

Watch it. See it in theaters, see it on demand, see it on DVD or Blu Ray, I don’t care how you watch it, but watch it. It’s a movie that needs to be seen. It reminds me of Takashi Miike’s brilliant movie Audition. It has nothing in common with it thematically, but in the idea that the less you know before you watch it, the more you will enjoy it.

I will say that the writing is incredible, the story is very unique. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like it in horror. Besides one thing. But I won’t say because it would actually spoil the movie. But when you see Goodnight Mommy, feel free to ask me what movie it reminded me of, because I will gladly discuss it.

Absolutely try your hardest, if you value horror, a great story, and a story that will constantly keep you guessing, then absolutely see Goodnight Mommy. I’m serious. Every time I thought I knew what was happening it surprised me again. So Goodnight Mommy. It’s an Austrian horror film starring two great young child actors Lukas and Elias Schwarz, and the excellent Susanne Wuest, and written/directed by Severin Fiala and Veronika Franz. I highly recommend this movie, it’s one of my favorite movies of the year.

OK THAT’S IT LATER GUYS.

Leave a Reply

