31 DAYS OF HORROR – DAY 14

Standard

download
Hey guys here we are finally caught up on my blog. Like fully caught up. I guess I kind of was yesterday too. But anyway so today I’m going to be talking about the movie that basically started the Japanese Horror American Remake trend of the early years of the 21st century.
thering
The Ring (2002)

The Original Japanese movie, Ringu, is one of my favorite horror movies. Which isn’t saying a WHOLE lot because I have many favorite horror movies. But it’s spooky, it has a great story, it has some great emotional drama, and it’s a pretty tragic story. So I love Ringu and now I have finally watched the remake, which is very acclaimed. People really like the remake, The Ring. And you know, I did like it. I really liked it. I didn’t love it, but it was very good.

There were points where I felt like I had seen it, because it was so similar to Ringu in some parts, especially in the first half. The second half changed some stuff around, which is good. But during the first half of the movie I kept getting the feeling that maybe I had already watched it and forgot. By the second half I realized that wasn’t true, it was just that similar to Ringu plot-wise. Which is good and bad. Some people want a faithful representation of the source material and some people like the remakes to change some stuff up, and I think The Ring did both which is good.

I don’t feel like I was as frightened by this as I was by Ringu but that may just be because I already knew what was going to happen because I saw Ringu. So that could be why. That’s not something I believe I could ever know though. But that’s probably what it is.

If you don’t know, The Ring is about this video where you watch it and then you get a little telephone call from a whispery voice that says you’re going to die in a week’s time (in a week’s time!). So basically the movie starts with a teen dying because of that, then her cousin (Naomi Watts) decides to investigate what happens so she watches the movie and she gets the call and her ex husband watches and he gets the call and everybody gets called and they have to figure out what happened and how to stop it and why the video even exists and what’s going on.

This movie was kind of a sensation when it hit theaters in America. I remember talking to a lot of people who said it was terrifying and I didn’t see it back then, because I was young, probably about 10. So I didn’t see it I don’t know why. I wasn’t a BIG horror fan when I was little, which is shocking now. So here I am watching it in 2015 and. Eh. Ringu wasn’t even that scary. It was creepy but I wasn’t having nightmares. Maybe if I saw it when it came out it would have scared me, but that’s not why I liked the movie. I t has great acting, great writing, great cinematography, and it has a good story. And some great spooky production design. Both the Japanese and American versions excel at all of that.

All-in-all, The Ring is worth seeing. I like Ringu more, but it probably helps your opinion of this movie if you haven’t seen Ringu (or vice versa) first because it’s scarier when you don’t know what’s happening (obviously). Ringu is better. But they’re both great so you should watch whichever you want. Watch both even. If you like one, it doesn’t detract from the other, it just won’t be like “ooh I’m real spooked what will happen” because you know. But still. Both great.

Later

Leave a Reply

