31 DAYS OF HORROR – DAY 13

Standard

The-Human-Centipede
Ok I should be back on track with my movie-watching schedule. I still have to watch one today, which will be tomorrow’s post. So that’s all sorted out. Anyway wowie wow almost halfway through the month. We are getting close to Halloween. YEAH.

maxresdefault
The Human Centipede (First Sequence) (2009)

Guys this was inevitable.

I was worried that The Human Centipede wouldn’t live up to my expectations due to the amount of infamy that it has acquired over the years since it came out and you know i think it lived up to it to an extent. It wasn’t quite as disturbing as the world would have you think (though, what is?), but then again, I’m highly desensitized to disturbing body horror as that is my favorite horror sub-genre. So, it didn’t faze me quite as much as movies like Antichrist or Salo, or The 120 days of Sodom. And certainly not as much as it would faze the average moviegoer. So I guess for me personally, The Human Centipede was more disturbing than I expected, but less than I hoped.

The Human Centipede is about two american girls who are on a trip to Germany. They want to go to a club but unfortunately, their rental car gets a flat tire. So they abandon it and attempt to find the nearest house to ask for a phone because their phones don’t have service. They go to the home of a surgeon who, well, it’s pretty apparent. So basically them and a Japanese guy are captured and they get their faces grafted to each other’s butts. Just going to put that bluntly. Face to butt. Sewn on. Skin graft. In all of its gory glory. I’m not going to go into too much detail about what that entails because it is PRETTY CLEAR what that entails.

Now I’m going to talk about things I liked and didn’t like about the movie. First I’m going to talk about what I didn’t like. So, the weird thing about this movie is that it seems like the kind of movie that you either love or hate but I’m pretty middle-of-the-road on it. I like it more than I dislike it. I’ve seen a lot of “highly disturbing” movies and this one was good. It was pretty disturbing. Overall I liked it, but here are some things I didn’t like about it: it, like many others like it, decided it’s more important to unnerve me than tell a genuinely unnerving story. So it loses points for story, but it doesn’t lose as many points as it could have. For what it was, the story wasn’t BAD. I understand the movie is shock for shock’s sake, but I wanted it to have a little bit more meat to the story. So that’s kind of a nothing complaint because of the kind of movie it is, but I stand by it.

Now, the biggest thing I liked was Dieter Laser’s performance. He played the doctor and I love mad scientists, and he played a great one. The guy was pure evil. Pure, psychotic evil. He was great. I loved him. And then I also really liked that the Japanese guy was the only one that didn’t get his mouth grafted to a butt. In my opinion it’s kind of a bold choice to remove the American girls (at least speech-wise) from the movie. It’s an interesting thing because I don’t know if this would be considered a German movie,m an American movie, or what, but we have the Japanese guy now basically as the main character. Which is sort of a switch because originally the American girls were the main characters. Then, they lost their ability to speak, so to say.

Now, I’m also a huge fan of body horror so all the gross, bloody skin graft stuff was really cool. Stupid and obvious, but I liked it. And the practical effects and make-up were wonderfully disgusting.

It’s hard to knock a movie that knows exactly what it is. You can say you don’t like it, sure, but to say it’s a bad movie is odd in my opinion, because I don’t think this movie was trying to impress anybody. I think it was just Tom Six decided he wanted to gross everybody out. So he tried to do that, and he was reasonably successful.

So, The Human Centipede is not the kind of movie I would call bad or good. It’s simply a movie you do or do not like. And I liked it. It’s definitely the kind of movie that is obvious to you whether you will like it or not. So if you think you might, then check it out. If you don’t, then don’t.

LATER

Leave a Reply

