Post-Oscars Follow-Up

Standard

Birdman_courtesy_Fox_Searchlight

Wow. It may mean very little now, but after I saw Birdman in theaters, I said it would win. Believe me, don’t, I don’t care. I know what I said. I have also said on multiple occasions that it is my favorite film of the year (spoiler for my upcoming top 50 list), so I’m VERY happy about this win. I started watching the Oscars back in 2003, Billy Crystal hosted and Return of the King won. I was amazed. I thought “Hey! They are right! That IS the Best Picture!”

Oh how naive I was.

They came close to picking my favorite again in 2007, when No Country for Old Men won, but no matter how great that movie was, it should have gone to There Will Be Blood. In 2009, I LOVED The Hurt Locker. I was rooting for it to win. I knew it would win. But in hindsight, my favorite movie of that year was probably District 9, followed by Inglourious Basterds.

This year though. This year Birdman won. This year the Best Movie of the year won. Now I will go into specifics about how I felt about all of the awards but right now I’m going to discuss the show itself.

Some people found Neil Patrick Harris unfunny at points. I did not. The lockbox bit didn’t pay-off so well, but just about every other joke he made was funny, sharp, and occasionally he took digs at the Academy, which were excellently spiteful (saying “Oh now you love him” when the audience clapped for David Oyelowo). I thought his opening was excellent, the Birdman underwear bit was clever, and I liked the little things he said as his presenter introductions.

As far as the presenters go, they ranged from funny to good, with some a little too obviously jus reading. However, let’s talk about John Travolta. The entire bit was supposed to be him redeeming himself for referring to Idina Menzel as “Adele Dazeem.” And then he comes out and he’s practically squeezing Menzel’s face and getting uncomfortably close. He went from goofy embarrassment to creepy old man.

Now, the acceptance speeches were, surprisingly, one of the highlights of the night. You had Eddie Redmayne’s manic child-like glee at winning Actor. J.K. Simmons (and the world) being totally unsurprised and him telling everyone to call their parents was sweet. Graham Moore (writer of The Imitation Game) opening up about his own suicide attempt being an inspiration for the writing of the film, and telling every to stay weird was powerful and heartfelt. Paweł Pawlikowski going way over time and giving no shit. Patricia Arquette speaking about equality for women (and Streep jumping up and cheering) was great, but then apparently she made some comments later that people took issue with, but I don’t know about all that so don’t quote me on it. Anyway the speeches were great. Viva Mexico.

Okay so let’s talk about the awards. I counted. I am (pretty) sure I got 13/20. Which is neither my worst nor my best.

AMERICAN SNIPER

Sound Editing
Who Won: American Sniper
Who I said Would Win: Interstellar
Who I said Should Win: Interstellar

I reiterate, I know little about the sound categories, but before the show I kind of realized that I was probably wrong about this and that Sniper would probably win. But I stand by my opinion that Interstellar should have won this one.

Sound Mixing
Who Won: Whiplash
Who I said Would Win: Whiplash
Who I said Should Win: Whiplash

I mean. I was right, and my opinion was also right. Happy about this one.

Production Design
Who Won: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who I said Would Win: Into the Woods
Who I said Should Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel

So I just bet on the wrong horse here, but Grand Budapest deserved it and Grand Budapest won it.

Original Score
Who Won: Alexandre Desplat for The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who I said Would Win: Alexandre Desplat for The Imitation Game
Who I said Should Win: Hans Zimmer for Interstellar

Right guy, wrong movie. I FEEL like I deserve half a point here. All of the composers were excellent, as they always are, but I felt that Hans Zimmer deserved it the most. The score of Interstellar was so powerful that at times it was frightening. But again, Grand Budapest had a beautiful, occasionally odd score.

aunlyk

Best Original Song
Who Won: “Glory” by John Legend and Common from Selma
Who I said Would Win: “Everything is Awesome” by Tegan and Sara ft. The Lonely Island from The LEGO Movie
Who I said Should Win: “Everything is Awesome” by Tegan and Sara ft. The Lonely Island from The LEGO Movie

Okay. SO “Glory” is an incredibly inspirational song, and I’m glad Selma got to take something home. However, of all the awards it SHOULD have been nominated for, this is one where I was actively rooting against it. Glory was great. Glory was performed beautifully live at the Oscars. However. “EVERYTHING IS AWESOME” was AMAZING. WILL ARNETT CAME OUT WITH QUESTLOVE DRESSED AS BATMAN. ANDY SAMBERG WAS THERE. THE LEGO MOVIE WAS ONLY NOMINATED FOR ONE AWARD. COME ON.

Costume Design
Who Won: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who I said Would Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who I said Should Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Much deserved. Not even remotely surprising.

Make-up & Hairstyling
Who Won: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who I said Would Win: Guardians of the Galaxy
Who I said Should Win: Guardians of the Galaxy

I’m super angry about this one. They made Tilda Swinton look old. Yeah, it looked fantastic but that’s ALL THEY DID. Guardians had entire alien species, all looking different from one another and equally convincing. It’s not a case of quantity over quality, it’s quality (also quantity) over quality. Honestly I’d have even rather seen Foxcatcher win, if only because that was a great movie that didn’t deserve to be shut out.

DAWN PLANET APES MOV

Visual Effects
Who Won: Interstellar
Who I said Would Win: Interstellar
Who I said Should Win: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes or Guardians of the Galaxy

Interstellar was incredible, and deserved this award, but I still would have given it to Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. They created an apocalyptic, overgrown wasteland, and realistic hyper-intelligent apes. I would say the latter is more impressive, but I’m glad Interstellar took something home.

Film Editing
Who Won: Whiplash
Who I said Would Win: Boyhood
Who I said Should Win: Boyhood

Despite who I said should win, I am loving how much love Whiplash got last night. Just an incredible movie. That being said, I’m also really disappointed in how few awards Boyhood won.

Cinematography
Who Won: Birdman
Who I said Would Win: Birdman
Who I said Should Win: Birdman

It was the best shot film of the year. Hands down. However, I would not have been sad to see Dick Pope’s (Dick Poop lol) beautiful cinematography for Mr. Turner not win. I would have liked to see Mr. Turner win something.

Adapted Screenplay
Who Won: The Imitation Game
Who I said Would Win: The Imitation Game
Who I said Should Win: Inherent Vice

While The Imitation Game won a much-deserved Oscar and Graham Moore gave an incredible speech, I still would have loved to see Paul Thomas Anderson’s hazy, difficult-to-follow screenplay for Inherent Vice.

Original Screenplay
Who Won: Birdman
Who I said Would Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Who I said Should Win: Nightcrawler

I loved Birdman. I loved The Grand Budapest Hotel. I loved Nightcrawler. I have no complaints.

Citizenfour

Documentary
Who Won: CITIZENFOUR
Who I said Would Win: CITIZENFOUR
Who I said Should Win: CITIZENFOUR or Virunga

CITIZENFOUR is an extremely important and relevant portrait of government surveillance of its own citizens. It’s terrifying and beautifully, tastefully made. I feel the same way about Virunga and, admittedly, I was hoping for a tie.

Foreign Language
Who Won: Ida
Who I said Would Win: Ida
Who I said Should Win: Tangerines

Ida was a beautiful, empowering movie. It deserved to win, but I would have LOVED to see the subtle, quiet Estonian war film Tangerines take it home. Unfortunately, I don’t think enough people saw it.

Animated
Who Won: Big Hero 6
Who I said Would Win: How to Train Your Dragon 2
Who I said Should Win: The Tale of Princess Kaguya

Yeah I know. The LEGO Movie wasn’t nominated. I’m starting to get over it. It’s sad that the beautiful, heartbreaking Tale of Princess Kaguya didn’t win, but I am still so happy to see Big Hero 6 take home the Oscar. Haaaaaaaiiiiiiry baby!

Supporting Actress
Who Won: Patricia Arquette
Who I said Would Win: Patricia Arquette
Who I said Should Win: Emma Stone

Arquette’s performance in Boyhood was all but guaranteed (and greatly deserved), but I still would have loved to see Emma Stone win.

Supporting Actor
Who Won: J.K. Simmons
Who I said Would Win: J.K. Simmons
Who I said Should Win: J.K. Simmons

No contest.

Best Actor
Who Won: Eddie Redmayne
Who I said Would Win: Eddie Redmayne
Who I said Should Win: Michael Keaton

Redmayne was amazing as Stephen Hawking, but I love Michael Keaton and I’m glad he was nominated. I was rooting for him. But I’m not upset about this.

Best Actress
Who Won: Julianne Moore
Who I said Would Win: Julianne Moore
Who I said Should Win: Julianne Moore

See J.K. Simmons above.

birdman-alejandro-gonzc3a1lez-ic3b1c3a1rritu

Best Director
Who Won: Alejandro González Iñárritu
Who I said Would Win: Alejandro González Iñárritu
Who I said Should Win: Alejandro González Iñárritu

Alejandro González Iñárritu is a fantastic director. I haven’t seen all of his movies, but the ones I have seen are excellent. I would have loved to have seen Linklater win this though, if only because Iñárritu won Picture, and Boyhood was excellent and deserved more from the Oscars.

Best Picture
Who Won: Birdman (or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Who I said Would Win: Birdman (or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Who I said Should Win: Birdman (or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Birdman (or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) was an amazing movie. Boyhood, Whiplash, Selma, and The Grand Budapest Hotel were excellent. The Imitation Game, The Theory of Everything, and American Sniper were great. But only Birdman was, in my opinion and that of the Academy, the Best Picture of the year.

That being said, I was actually kind of rooting for Whiplash, if only because it was really unlikely and would have been a nice surprise. But it took home 3 awards last night, and that’s pretty great as well.

Well that’s it for this years Oscars! As far as my blog goes, I plan on doing another theme month in March. Probably action movies. The first week may be a little slow, but hopefully I can manage to put out at least one a day.

I also want to do a week or two-long focus on a particular Director’s body of work. I may do David Lynch first. We’ll see.

birdman-movie-picture-5

Leave a Reply

