31 Days of Horror! Day 6

Standard

003
Hello, and welcome to Day 6! It’s late here so pardon any grammatical errors. I watched three movies today, but one of them wasn’t really horror. I thought it was going to be horror but it was more of a thriller so I’m not including it. That’s saying nothing of its quality, it was a unique, suspenseful, excellent thriller, this is just the 31 days of horror so it is not included. It’s called Open Windows for those of you who care. Came out like SUPER recently.

Anyway let’s get started.

Vlcsnap-2011-12-30-07h04m20s194
The Thing (2011)
This is the 2011 prequel to John Carpenter’s 1982 film of the same name. It’s really the exact same plot, which is that an Antarctic research team find a shapeshifting alien and no one trusts each other and there are crazy INSANE looking monster alien human creatures and that is the trademark of the 1982 version.

It’s no different here, besides the fact that they have replaced a large amount of the beautiful wonderful horrifying practical effects of the ’82 version with CGI here. Don’t get me wrong, the creature designs are still A+, they just don’t feel as scary or real as they did when they used puppets and animatronics and CRAZY make-up effects and prosthetics.

The plot was thin and basically just exactly the same as ’82. The writing reflected that as well. The acting by everyone was great, no complaints there. I’m sure a lot of people who never saw the ’82 version enjoyed this a whole lot, however, I was kind of bored by it. It wasn’t really scary, the CGI was a little distracting, and all the good aspects were better in the 1982 version. All-in-all, the most I got out of this movie was a strong urge to watch John Carpenter’s The Thing (1982) and I would recommend anyone else to go for that version as well.

MercuryJudas
Mimic (1997) (Director’s Cut: 2011)
It’s no secret that Guillermo del Toro’s Mimic was not everyone’s favorite of his movies. It’s not mine. It’s definitely not his. But then, in 2011, he released a director’s cut, showing that he really did care about the movie. Which is great because the Director’s cut is amazing. Still not my favorite of his work but it’s great anyway.

It’s about an entomologist who crossbreeds some insects to cure dying children and they don’t all die when they’re supposed to and they mutate and a ragtag band of heroes have to stop them. It’s a pretty basic plot wrapped around a pretty unique concept packaged in an atmospheric and beautifully shot horror/sci-fi movie that’s right at home on any horror fan’s shelf.

Needless to say I am a big fan of this movie, as I am of all of del Toro’s work. I still have yet to see The Devil’s Backbone (look for that post in the coming days, kids), but I have not seen a single movie of his that I didn’t love. I would say this is my least favorite, but I would still give it around an 8.5/10, if that’s any indication of how much I liked it.

There’s also some great practical effects on display here, as one would expect from del Toro. I don’t know if you can tell from reading this, but I am a sucker for practical effects. I could write a book on why I think they’re still so important in the film industry, especially with regard to sci-fi and horror. A movie to look out for sometime this/next year if you like practical is Harbinger Down. It was kickstarted and looks to reclaim the 80s style of extremely high-quality and unique sci-fi movie monsters.

That’s it for today! Look out for tomorrow when the PLAN is to watch Horns starring Daniel Radcliffe and Guillermo del Toro’s The Devil’s Backbone. I probably won’t have time for a third because MY PROGRAMS will be taking up my prime time viewing hours.

Leave a Reply

