The Academy of Will presents the first Annual Felix Awards for Quality in Filmmaking.


Hello! We at the Academy of Will proudly present our first annual Awards for quality in filmmaking. Eligible films are any that were released in the United States of America between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2013 (that I saw). The categories are:
Best Picture
Best Director
Best Animated Film
Best Foreign-Language Film
Best Actor
Best Actress
Best Supporting Actor
Best Supporting Actress
Best Original Screenplay
Best Adapted Screenplay
Best Cinematography
Best Costume Design
Best Make-Up
Best Visual (Computer-Generated) Effects
Best Practical (Non-Computer-Generated) Effects
Best Stunt Work


Best Picture:
Inside Llewyn

12 Years a Slave

Best Director
Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
Park Chan-Wook – Stoker
Alexander Payne – Nebraska
Denis VIlleneuve – Prisoners
Wong Kar-wai – The Grandmaster 

Best Animated Film
Monsters University
The Croods
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Parts 1 & 2)

Best Foreign-Language Film
Blue is the Warmest Color (La Vie d’Adèle – Chapitres 1 & 2) – France

The Broken Circle Breakdown – Belgium
The Grandmaster – China (Hong Kong)
The Great Beauty (La grande bellezza) – Italy
The Hunt (Jagten) – Denmark

Best Actor:
Bruce Dern – Nebraska
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave

Oscar Isaac – Inside Llewyn Davis
Hugh Jackman – Prisoners
Mads Mikkelsen – The Hunt

Best Actress
Veerle Baetens – The Broken Circle Breakdown
Judi Dench – Philomena
Brie Larson – Short Term 12
Mia Wasikowska – Stoker
Zhang Ziyi – The Grandmaster

Best Supporting Actor
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

James Gandolfini – Enough Said
Matthew Goode – Stoker
Jake Gyllenhaal – Prisoners
Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress
Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Léa Seydoux – Blue is the Warmest Color
Octavia Spencer – Fruitvale Station
June Squibb – Nebraska

Best Original Screenplay
Ethan and Joel Coen – Inside Llewyn Davis

Aaron Guzikowski – Prisoners
Tobias Lindholm and Thomas Vinterberg – The Hunt

Wentworth Miller – Stoker
Bob Nelson – Nebraska

Best Adapted Screenplay
Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope – Philomena

Abdellatif Kechiche and Ghalia Lacroix – Blue is the Warmest Color
Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber – The Spectacular Now

John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave
Terence Winter – The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Cinematography
Chung Chung-hoon – Stoker
Bruno Delbonnel – Inside Llewyn Davis

Philippe LeSourd – The Grandmaster
Anthony Dod Mantle – Rush
Phedon Papamichael – Nebraska

Best Costume Design
Bob Buck, Ann Maskrey, and Richard Taylor – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

William Chang – The Grandmaster
Kate Hawley – Pacific Rim
Bart Mueller and Kurt Swanson – Stoker
Patricia Norris – 12 Years a Slave

Best Make-Up
The Conjuring

Dallas Buyers Club
Evil Dead
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
The World’s End

Best Visual Effects

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Iron Man 3
Pacific Rim
Star Trek Into Darkness

Best Practical Effects
The Conjuring

Fast and Furious 6
The Grandmaster
Pacific Rim
You’re Next

Best Stunt Work
Fast and Furious 6

The Grandmaster
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Iron Man 3
The World’s End

Well! Those are the nominees! I’ll pick the winners soon. Probably later today or tomorrow. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s