2014 Academy Award Predictions

Image

2014 Academy Award Predictions

Okay so hopefully this is formatted okay. WELCOME. To my LAST MINUTE 2014 Academy Award winner prediction list! WOOOOOOOO HERE WE GO we’re going least important to most important this year. Bear in mind, the earlier it is on the list, the less I really know about the award! LIKE SOUND MIXING.

Sound Mixing: Inside Llewyn Davis

I just REALLY want Inside Llewyn Davis to win something because it was woefully ignored in all the other categories.

Sound Editing: All is Lost
Why? Well I’ll tell you. Because the sound was the most important aspect of the film. Almost no lines, just a tale of one man’s survival.

Production Design: The Great Gatsby
I am so happy The Great Gatsby was only nominated for one Oscar, and even better is that it actually REALLY deserves this award. I mean say what you want about the script and other decisions, but the actual production design was gorgeous.

Make-Up and Hairstyling: Dallas Buyers Club
Although I’m pretty sure Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa actually has a PRETTY GOOD shot at this one, and PROBABLY deserves it, Dallas Buyers Club made McConaughey and Leto look legitimately like AIDS victims.

Costume Design: American Hustle
There’s not much to say here. The clothing in this movie was as close as you can get to the 1970s glitz and glamour ideals that this movie satirized so perfectly.

Editing: Gravity
Cuarón is (spoiler) my pick for Director, so these two awards basically go hand in hand. Gravity was tight and focused when it needed to be, and long and drawn out when it needs to be, creating a perfect sense of suspense and hopelessness, making us feel as small as Bullock did compared to the size of the universe she was lost in.

Cinematography: Prisoners
Again, I’m not sure how likely this is to win, though it is deserved, but I mostly picked it because, like Llewyn, this movie was woefully ignored for most other award categories.

Visual Effects: Gravity
It’s impressive to create such beautiful orcs and dragons, but it’s TRULY impressive to make something so real. Something that exists. Like last year’s winner, Life of Pi (specifically the tiger), the most impressive visual effects happen when they recreate real life.

Score: Gravity
Like I said for Editing and Visual Effects, the score adds to the sense of isolation and suspense of the film.

Original Song: “Let it Go” – Frozen
The song was just awesome. It was powerfully sung, and the lyrics weren’t hammy inspirational, as happens so often in children’s animated movies.

Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave
The film’s dialogue is one of the defining features (though almost every feature of the film is defining).

Original Screenplay: Her
You don’t get much more original than Spike Jonze’s “Her.” It almost seems like an easy story to create and tell, but in it’s subtleties and sheer believability, it was mind-blowing. You really felt for this man who fell in love with his operating system.

Foreign: The Great Beauty
I’m cheating a little on this one. I haven’t seen it, but it’s the overwhelming crowd favorite. It seems unlikely that I would find it to be a better film than The Hunt, the story of a man falsely accused of child molestation, or The Broken Circle Breakdown, which is the story of a couple who basically just fall apart in the most tragic ways imaginable. But, here we are I suppose. We’ll see.

Animated: Frozen
Frozen is going to win. There’s not much more to it than that. I have yet to see Miyazaki’s swansong, The Wind Rises, and I would love to. I can pretty safely assume I’ll find it of a higher quality than Frozen. But Frozen really did blow me away. It certainly deserves to win.

Documentary: The Act of Killing
I only saw Dirty Wars and it was great so I’m basically just guessing. I’m not guessing Dirty Wars because The Act of Killing sounds better to me.

Supporting Actor: Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
I would say that Jared Leto, Barkhad Abdi, and Michael Fassbender all deserve it pretty equally, but Jared Leto seems like the one who will get it.

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
I would LOVE to see June Squibb win for Nebraska, but Lupita Nyong’o’s heartbreaking portrayal of an abused slave named Patsy has this award in the bag. And it’s WELL deserved.

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club
Chiwetel Ejiofor could come from behind and win, but McConaughey has won basically EVERYTHING for his portrayal of AIDS victim Ron Woodruff. If I could pick the winner, I’d pick Bruce Dern for Nebraska.

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
She has won everything and she’s going to win here too. Her panicked, depressed, verging on insane performance was both comedic and tragic almost simultaneously.

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity
I know I already said this and I’ve picked Gravity quite a few times, but all for good reasons. On a technical level, Gravity is probably the best picture of the year. And Cuarón’s direction is by far the beat of the nominees. However, I don’t think it will get picture. For that, I think it will go to…

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave
Between the vast and wide-ranging ensemble of phenomenal acting, flowing, beautiful direction by Steve McQueen, and the amazing art direction, cinematography, and production design going on, 12 Years a Slave screamed “Best Picture” immediately after I saw it. It may not have the absolute best of any single aspect I listed, when combined, it created the film I think both deserves and will win Best Picture. Though Gravity and American Hustle are being hyped as well. And I would LOVE to see Nebraska win (it was overall my favorite movie this year).

Leave a Reply

